Sharing and learning is becoming the driver of radical innovation

We go ahead and share ideas, develop projects together and inspire the construction industry. Join us and walk the path into the new world of open source tools and open data.
Open Source in AEC























































Open source in the construction industry

The construction industry is characterized by numerous small and medium-sized companies that operate locally, adhere to existing standards, and have limited or no budget for research and development – certainly not for the development of digital solutions. Consequently, each company attempts to independently invent and implement solutions with constrained resources and only within their silo. As a result, it becomes challenging to effectively address the upcoming challenges related to ambitious cost and sustainability goals.

However, this situation can serve as an exciting starting point for developing user-oriented tools that transcend individual companies, adopting an open-source mindset.

 

Because open source has evolved into a movement that extends beyond software development. The open source movement leverages the principles and the decentralized production model of open source software to discover novel approaches for addressing challenges within other communities and industries.

This approach doesn’t imply that everyone in the construction industry must learn programming and become a geek. Quite the opposite, collaborative development allows individuals to contribute their unique strengths in the most effective manner possible. For some, this may involve providing feedback on content while others may contribute in project organization, software development or financial support to specific projects.

Projects

The exciting thing about the open source movement is the diversity of possible projects.
From small, local projects to large, transnational projects, from simple database solutions to complex software projects. As long as the mindset is right, there is something for everyone – from analogue dinosaurs to average users to absolute experts.

The AEC Free Software Directory by OSArch gives a great overview of existing projects relevant to the construction industry. In addition, you will find a growing number of projects documented in more detail to get a better understanding of the mechanisms of open source projects and the people behind them.

Events

Talk. Share. Do.
Knowing what works and exchanging ideas with others is often the starting point for exciting projects. Therefore, opensource.construction organises its own events to facilitate this exchange – find them here + further events that we attend as well.

No pending events

Past events

AEC Hackathon – Zurich Edition

02.02.2024 - 04.02.2024

More about the event

DINAcon

23.11.2023

More about the event

Future of Construction 2023 Symposium

13.09.2023 - 15.09.2023

More about the event

Workshoptage CH Open

05.09.2023 - 07.09.2023

More about the event

Open Source in der Architektur (german)

06.09.2023

More about the event

Open Innovation Workshop «Construction & Data Science»

20.04.2023

More about the event

Open Source for Architects Conference

16.03.2023

More about the event

AEC Hackathon Copenhagen

03.03.2023 - 05.03.2023

More about the event

Kick-Off Event opensource.construction

01.11.2022

More about the event

Together for an open, innovative construction industry.

It’s time for a change. The aim of the opensource.construction initiative is to accelerate the transformation toward a more digital and innovative construction industry through the power of the open source movement.

Accordingly, the initiative’s activities revolve around the following initiatives:

Making the potential of open source tangible

The concept of open source has many facets. The initiative organises events and communicates via website and social media with the aim of making the potential behind open source code, tools and mindset tangible for all stakeholders in the construction industry.

Connecting people

People with ideas are looking for people to help them implement them. Because they lack technical know-how. Because they lack the finishing touches for the idea. Because they lack resources and know that it is easier to do it together than alone.

For this reason, opensource.construction facilitates networking among its members, other interested parties, experts, sponsors, private companies, public institutions, other initiatives, and political figures.

Enabling open projects

An open source solution is only a good solution if it is used. The main goal of the initiative is to turn ideas into concrete solutions.

To this end, the initiative provides the technical and organisational infrastructure that is needed to set up a project that often spans several companies. Another important aid: access to funding that facilitates implementation.

Who is behind the initiative?

Architects, urban developers, investors, engineers and planners as well as software engineers and tech geeks are behind the opensource.construction initiative. Together, they have the goal of advancing the topic of open source in the construction industry and developing collaborative projects in participatory processes. The community meets regularly digitally and physically to discuss and further develop concrete approaches.

The initiative is organised as a working group of CH Open. With over 350 member companies, the association has been promoting open source software and open standards in Switzerland for 40 years. Thus, CH Open is the ideal platform to bring the construction industry and the ICT sector together.

Partners – Community

OSArch-light
OSArch
Open-Source-Day-028_schmal
Do you have any questions about open­source.con­struc­tion?


CHRK_800x600

You live in the north and have any questions about opensource.construction?

Our local lead in Copenhagen, Christian Kongsgaard, will be happy to answer your questions.

Are you interested in open source for the construction industry?

Become part of our community!

Teilen und Lernen wird zum Treiber radikaler Innovation.

Wir gehen voran und teilen Ideen, entwickeln gemeinsam Projekte und inspirieren die Bauindustrie. Mach mit und gehe mit uns den Weg in die neue Welt aus Open Source Tools und Open Data.
Open Source in der Bauindustrie























































Open Source im Kontext der Bauindustrie

Die Bauindustrie ist gekennzeichnet von zahlreichen kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, die lokal agieren, sich an bestehenden Normen orientieren und wenig bis kein Budget für Forschung und Entwicklung haben – schon gar nicht für die Entwicklung digitaler Lösungen.
Das Ergebnis: Jedes Unternehmen versucht mit begrenzten Mitteln, das Rad für sich selbst neu zu erfinden und nur innerhalb der eigenen Mauern zu arbeiten. So wird es kaum möglich sein, die anstehenden Herausforderungen bezüglich Kostendruck und Nachhaltigkeitszielen schnell und effizient zu bewältigen.

Auf der anderen Seite ist die Situation eine spannende Ausgangslage, um mit dem Open Source Mindset firmenübergreifend nutzerorientierte Tools zu entwickeln.

Denn Open Source ist zu einer Bewegung geworden, die über die Softwareproduktion hinausgeht. Die Open-Source-Bewegung nutzt die Werte und das dezentrale Produktionsmodell von Open-Source-Software, um neue Wege zur Lösung von Problemen in unterschiedlichen Gemeinschaften und Branchen zu finden.

Dieser Ansatz bedeutet nicht, dass alle Beteiligten in der Bauindustrie programmieren lernen und zu Nerds werden müssen. Ganz im Gegenteil: Kollaborativ entwickeln heisst, dass jeder/jede seine/ihre Stärken optimal einbringen kann. Für die einen bedeutet das inhaltliches Feedback, für die anderen Projektorganisation, für wieder andere Software Entwicklung und für einige auch finanzielle Unterstützung einzelner Projekte.

Projekte

Das Spannende an der Open Source Bewegung ist die Vielfalt der möglichen Projekte. Von kleinen, lokalen Projekten bis hin zu grossen, länderübergreifenden Projekten, von einfachen Datenbanklösungen bis hin zu komplexen Softwareprojekten. So lange das Mindset stimmt, ist für alle was dabei – vom analogen Dinosaurier über den durchschnittlichen Anwender bis hin zur absoluten Expertin.

Das AEC Free Software Directory von OSArch gibt eine super Übersicht über existierende Projekte mit Relevanz für die Bauindustrie. Zusätzlich findest Du eine wachsende Anzahl von Projekte genauer dokumentiert, um ein besseres Verständnis für die Mechanismen von Open Source Projekten und die Menschen dahinter zu bekommen.

LCAx and EPDx

Mehr zum Projekt

BlenderBIM Add-on

Mehr zum Projekt

OpenMaterialData

Mehr zum Projekt

OpenSource.Modell­basierter Studien­auftrag

Mehr zum Projekt

Events

Talk. Share. Do.
Wissen, was geht und sich mit anderen auszutauschen, ist oft der Startpunkt für spannende Projekte. opensource.construction veranstaltet eigene Events, um das zu ermöglichen – unsere Events sowie Veranstaltungen, die wir sonst noch auf dem Radar haben, findet ihr hier.

Keine ausstehenden Events

Vergangene Events

AEC Hackathon – Zurich Edition

02.02.2024 - 04.02.2024

Mehr zum Event

DINAcon

23.11.2023

Mehr zum Event

Future of Construction 2023 Symposium

13.09.2023 - 15.09.2023

Mehr zum Event

Workshoptage CH Open

05.09.2023 - 07.09.2023

Mehr zum Event

Open Source in der Architektur

06.09.2023

Mehr zum Event

Open Innovation Workshop «Construction & Data Science»

20.04.2023

Mehr zum Event

Open Source for Architects Conference (eng)

16.03.2023

Mehr zum Event

AEC Hackathon Copenhagen (eng)

03.03.2023 - 05.03.2023

Mehr zum Event

Kick-Off Event opensource.construction

01.11.2022

Mehr zum Event

Zusammen für eine offene, innovative Bauindustrie.

Die Initiative opensource.construction hat zum Ziel, den durch die Open Source Bewegung ermöglichten Wandel zu einer digitaleren und innovativeren Bauindustrie zu beschleunigen.

Entsprechend fokussieren unsere Aktivitäten auf folgende Massnahmen:

Potential von Open Source greifbar machen

Das Thema Open Source hat viele Facetten. Der Verein veranstaltet Events und kommuniziert über Webseite und Social Media mit dem Ziel, das Potential hinter Open Source Code, Tools und Mindset für alle Beteiligten in der Bauindustrie greifbar zu machen.

Menschen vernetzen

Menschen mit Ideen suchen Menschen, die bei der Umsetzung unterstützen. Weil ihnen technisches Know-How fehlt. Weil ihnen der Feinschliff für die Idee fehlt. Weil es ihnen an Ressourcen fehlt und sie wissen, dass es gemeinsam leichter geht, als alleine.

Daher vernetzt opensource.construction seine Mitglieder mit anderen Interessierten und Experten, mit Sponsoren und privaten Unternehmen sowie öffentlichen Institutionen, anderen Verbänden sowie Exponenten aus der Politik.

Offene Projekte ermöglichen

Eine Open Source Lösung ist nur dann eine gute Lösung, wenn sie eingesetzt wird. Dass aus Ideen konkrete Lösungen werden, ist das Hauptziel des Vereins.

Dafür stellt der Verein als Anschubhilfe die technische und organisatorische Infrastruktur bereit, die es für das Aufsetzen eines oftmals firmenübergreifenden Projekts benötigt. Ein weitere wichtige Hilfe: der Zugang zu Fördermitteln, die die Umsetzung erleichtern.

Wer steht hinter der Initiative?

Hinter der Iniative opensource.construction stehen sowohl Architekten, Stadtentwickler, Investoren, Ingenieure und Fachplaner als auch Software Ingenieure und Tech Geeks. Gemeinsam haben sie das Ziel, das Thema Open Source im Bauwesen weiterzudenken und gemeinschaftliche Projekte in Mitwirkungsverfahren zu erarbeiten. Die Community trifft sich regelmässig digital und physisch, diskutiert und entwickelt konkrete Ansätze weiter.

Die Initiative ist als Arbeitsgruppe von CH Open organisiert. Mit über 350 Mitgliedsfirmen fördert der Verein seit 40 Jahren Open Source Software sowie offene Standards in der Schweiz. Somit ist CH Open die ideale Plattform, um die Bauindustrie und den ICT Sektor zusammen zu bringen.

Open-Source-Day-028_schmal

Hast Du Fragen zu open­source.con­struc­tion?

Maximilian Vomhof beantwortet deine Fragen gerne.

Bist du interessiert an Open Source in der Bauindustrie?

Dann werde Teil unserer Community.